J and I are huge bike fans.  So, when I was reading my issue of Self last night and saw that May 15th is Bike-to-Work Day, I had to write about it.  Unfortunately, my 30 minute trek down Route 287 doesn’t really allow for a safe drive, so I thought I’d post some info here instead!

J and I both have Diamondback Outlook bikes.  I recently bought mine at a local bike shop in Somerset County.  If you’re thinking about seriously biking on dirt roads and other off-road terrain, I would recommend buying a mountain bike at a biking store instead of buying a cheap one from Wal-Mart.  The tires are just not as great.  But I’m sure you knew that already ;).  Also, a lot of the simpler bikes sold at Wal-Mart don’t allow for gear shifting.  A lot of the routes that we’ve found around our house are pretty challenging, so this is a necessity if you’re serious about bike riding.

When you’re choosing a bike, make sure that when seated, the ball of your foot is on the pedal and your knee is slightly bent.  To ensure maximum comfort for your best asset, sit on the widest part of the cushion at the back of the saddle.  Finally, relax your shoulders and keep your elbows loosely bent so that the pressure if off your wrists.  And also, keep in mind that a great bike is an investment, not only for the environment, but also for your health-if you bike 3 times a week for half an hour each trip, you’ll shed 10 pounds in a year!  And who doesn’t want that!

Check out a local Bike to Work Week event near you!  And, for greener commuting year round, visit WorldCommute.com.

