A few months ago, Jared and I were out shopping when 2 cookbooks caught my attention:  “Hungry Girl 200 Under 200” and “Hungry Girl Recipes and Survival Strategies for Guilt Free Eating in the Real World“.  As most of you know, I’m constantly looking for great things to eat that are low in calories but still filling.  These books are the answers to all my prayers!

One important factor for me when buying a cookbook is the recipes themselves.  Not only do I want them to be healthy, I also want them to be semi-simple so I can make them with ingredients I already have after work.  Getting home at 6 and working out at 8 doesn’t leave too much time for lengthy preparation, so these factors are paramount.

So far, I’ve been very pleased with the recipes I’ve found in these cookbooks.  Last night, I made the Red Hot Chick’n Salad. I have yet to taste it, but it was very simple.  I did leave out the hot pepper spice, since I’m not really a fan of it, and from my taste test last night, it still tasted just fine.  For 142 calories a serving, you can’t beat it.

Last month, I made “Swirls Gone Wild” Cheesecake brownies for Jared’s uncle’s birthday party.  Jared loved the name and requested them.  They were also a hit.  The most interesting thing about prepping them was the use of pumpkin with the dry cake mix instead of anything else.  While my swirls weren’t perfect, they still tasted pretty amazing!

I would recommend these cookbooks to anyone that wants to eat healthy and still eat.  Also, make sure you subscribe to the daily emails full of tips and more!

Happy Eating!

