A few weeks ago, Jared and I celebrated our 2 year dating anniversary.  Since we’ll use any excuse to eat out, we decided to try a local restaurant.  Which brings me to my review for the Gladstone Tavern.

I’ve always liked the looks of this place.  The Gladstone Tavern was fashioned out of an 1847 colonial farmhouse.  The tavern has a dining room and outdoor terrace as well as a private dining room for events.  We chose to sit in the dining room since the outdoor terrace was a little crowded.  It’s always a good sign to me when a restuarant is crowded on a weekday!

We had a hard time picking an appetizer, as all of the choices looked great.  We ended up going with the Wisconsin Artisan Cheeses, which came with grapes and sliced apples as well as three large chunks of cheese and a basket of baguettes.  Another plus:  typically, restaurants will give you a cheese platter with only a handful of baguettes, assuming you’re not going to come close to finishing even 1/4 of the cheese they provide.  The cheese was excellent, and it was a great starter to our meal.  Probably shouldn’t have eaten as much as I did, but I can’t resist a fresh block of parmesan.  😉

As a meal, I decided to get the hanger steak in a cabernet sauce.  I’m not usually a huge steak fan, but the other menu choices just didn’t jump out at me.  I don’t like a lot of fish, and the pork and lamb dishes did not catch my attention.  The steak was very decent, although definitely undercooked based on what I asked for.  I did change my mind about that, so it’s possible the waitress got confused, but still.  This is why I hardly ever order steak!  But the sauce was definitely worth it.

Dessert: the best part of an anniversary meal!  Out of all of the restaurants we’ve been to recently, this one wins as far as dessert choices are concerned.  I hate when it’s the typicaly creme brulee, chocolate molten cake, and sorbet choices.  Really?  That’s all you can think of, amazing chefs?  Although they did have some of the usuals on the menu, the Gladstone Tavern also featured interesting desserts and specials that made it hard to choose. I chose the Peanut Butter “Sandwich”, a great mix of cake and icing.  It was to die for!  Definitely a nice option for those of us that get tired of creme brulee!

For those that may not be interested in the full dining experience, the Gladstone Tavern also features a tavern menu where the beer list is longer than the food list.  Might be worth going back for the more casual menu!

In total, I really enjoyed eating at the Gladstone Tavern.  The dress code seemed to be mixed, with some patrons arriving in work attire and others in jeans with young children in tow (I believe there was a children’s menu!).  Overall, definitely a place I would go back to!

My rating:  9/10

Gladstone Tavern
273 Main Street
Gladstone, NJ 07934
908-234-9055
http://www.gladstonetavern.com

