As mentioned in my last book review, Jennifer Weiner‘s books are quickly becoming my absolute favorites.  After reading “Good in Bed“, I was dying to read the sequel, “Certain Girls“.  This book was equally as fantastic and I finished it just as quickly!

When I read the summary of this book, I was not sure how much I would be able to relate to it.  After all, I’m not a teenage girl, nor do I have children at all.  It was much easier to relate to Cannie’s weight and job issues in the first book, as they resonated more with my personal experiences.  In fact, I was such a Cannie fan that I spent the better part of the book disliking Joy.  I got over it, though, due to Ms. Weiners remarkable ability to draw you in and make you feel as if you do identify with some piece of their life.

I do have to admit that there were some scenes in this book with Joy that I found a bit hard to believe.  Some of her adventures seemed a bit too mature for a girl her age.  I’m not saying it made the book unenjoyable, but it did kind of take it out of the bounds of reality for me a bit.  Once again, not a bad thing, but a little too much of a stretch for my mind in some parts.

Ms. Weiner adds quite the surprise toward the end of the book.  Another moment where I had to be mad at her, as it was not the kind of twist I was hoping for or expecting. I guess I should have seen it coming, given some of the surprises in “Good in Bed.”  I cried quite a bit and wanted to jump through the pages and change the endings a bit, but it’s these elements that make for a fantastic story.

Jennifer Weiner is just a fantastic author with the ability to make you feel the emotions of characters you think you’ll never be able to identify with.  Escaping to Cannie’s world is a welcome escape, and I can’t wait to see what “Best Friends Forever” is like!

