I ate a lot in Dublin.  I shouldn’t admit that, but it’s true.  Between a crossaint or bagel for breakfast and a piece of cake or other dessert at lunch or dinner, I ate WAY MORE than I do when I’m at the office or at home.  Because calories consumed on vacation don’t count, right?  😉  I really expected to come home and find out that I had gained at least 5 pounds.  So, when it was time for me to face the scale like I always do on Monday morning, I squinted between half closed eyes and saw:

That I hadn’t gained a single pound.

How is that possible?  I was over there for 7 days and I didn’t work out a single day.  I ate foods that probably contained my calorie allotment of the day for breakfast.  Not to mention my good friends Stella and Bulmers…

The only thing I can attribute to not gaining any weight at all:  walking.  I walked every day, whether it was the 10 minutes to the LUAS, or the 20 to St. Patrick’s Cathedral, I was on my feet for at least 6 hours a day, every day.

It’s not a secret to anyone that walking is one of the best ways to manage your weight.  In fact, my mom has always instilled that in us that brisk walking is a great way to lose weight-it certainly works for her!  I guess it never occurred to me that living in a city without a car can really help you keep your weight in check if you’re constantly using your own two feet to get where you need to go.

Seems like a great reason to move back to Washington, huh?  😉  Have other people noticed this as well?

