A gem in the middle of nowhere

Another Hunterdon County gem!  We have passed The Tewksbury Inn a few times on our way to the Long Valley Brewery, and always commented by how nice it looked.  Last Friday, we finally made a reservation and indulged!

We had read on Yelp that the dress was a bit more upscale, so Jared wore Dockers and a sweater and I wore work-type clothes.  We had a 6:30 reservation, but we got there early and they let us sit for dinner.  We chose to sit in the dining room area rather than the bar-menu is the same, but if you’re looking for a quieter atmosphere, avoid the bar at all costs!  It was pretty noisy, even at 6 p.m.  We also noticed that a lot of people were wearing jeans.  Dress code is one of those things that seems to be going away these days, but I certainly felt more comfortable in nicer pants.

I was pretty excited about the menu.  The soup special was a Potato Leek with Proscuitto, so that was an obvious choice.  The soup was very good, but I’m not sure I tasted too many traces of my favorite meat.  It must have been ground to a pulp.  Still good, and the soup serving was more than adequate.

As an entree, I chose the “Maple Glazed 14oz. Duroc Pork Porterhouse with whipped sweet potatoes, caramelized local apples, haricot vert and natural pan jus”.  I had never had a Pork Porterhouse, and of course the addition of the sweet potatoes made this hard to pass up.  I was extremely glad I chose it. The sweet potatoes were simply delicious, and the addition of haricot vert and the glaze of the pork just made for an absolutely wonderful combination of flavors.  The perfect November meal, in my opinion!  While I’m not a fan of caramelized hot apples, Jared thought they were very good, and, once again, a great fall/winter meal addition.

The dessert menu was less than impressive, and our dinners were so big that we decided to forgo the options they had.  To be honest, none of them were very original, and in my opinion, it’s not worth wasting the calories on something you can get anywhere!

The serving staff at The Tewksbury Inn was extremely attentive.  We’ve been to a lot of restaurants lately where the service has been absolutely terrible, but the staff here was attentive without being overbearing.  The pace of the meal was just perfect.

While I wouldn’t recommend The Tewksbury Inn for families with very young children, the restaurant is an excellent option for a night out with friends or parents.  Before you go, make sure to make a reservation, as the dining rooms get crowded on the weekends.

My rating:  8/10

The Tewksbury Inn
55 Main Street
Oldwick, NJ 08858
908-439-2641

 

