I’m not sure where this came from, but I am pretty obsessed with pumpkin flavored items.  I never used to care too much about Pumpkin Pie, Pumpkin Bread, or any other seasonal treats, but for some reason this year, I’ve had some major pumpkin cravings.  Which isn’t a bad thing, considering the various health benefits pumpkin offers.  So, this week, I turned to my favorite Hungry Girl cookbooks for the perfect pumpkin treat.

If you’re a self-professed pumpkin fan, the Hungry Girl cookbooks should be a must-buy on your holiday shopping list. From cupcakes, to pie, to enchiladas (yes, enchiladas), the Hungry Girl books are really the healthiest option for getting your fill of pumpkin.  I started with the Caramel Pudding Pumpkin Cupcakes.

Pumpkin Cupcakes

Yum, Yum, Pumpkin!!

It’s hard for me to bake during the week.  By the time I get home, it’s close to 6 p.m., and by the time I eat dinner and work out and do everything else that needs to be done, it’s time to go to sleep and do it all over again.  The benefit of the Hungry Girl recipes for me are that they are simple and quick.  The ingredients are not hard to find, and sometimes I even luck out and have all of them around the house!  For this recipe, I swapped out Soy Milk for skim milk, as I can’t justify buying a whole carton of soy milk that no one will drink. Seemed like a waste to me. The topping was a little tricky to make.  It might have had something to do with the power settings on my microwave, but the first batch I did came out almost burned, and the second was too creamy.  Still came out ok though!

Have fun playing with pumpkin this Thanksgiving!  For more great holiday recipes, make sure you subscribe to the Hungry Girl email newsletters!

