I’ll be the first to confess that I have a hard time holding back during the holidays.  Sweets are my weakness, and when faced with trays of cookies and plates of pie, I’d just as much skip dinner and fill up on dessert.  Unhealthy, I know, but it all comes back to not being able to fight temptation…

During the holidays, we all make mistakes with food.  I’m not saying it’s right, but it happens.  And, I’m a big believer in not denying yourself during this time.  It’s so much easier to stay on track if you let yourself have one or two cookies instead of depriving yourself the whole time.

There is nothing I hate more than the guilt trips other people try to lay on you at the holiday dessert table.  You know who I’m talking about….the relative or friend that watches what you’re taking, commenting on how much food there is and how they are on this great diet and able to resist.  Not to mention the person that stands over the table biting their nails over how many calories are in each little dessert.

Once again, I am in no way justifying unhealthy eating.  No matter what time of year it is, it’s never healthy to just eat whatever you want.  However, this is another case where people need to watch what they say to family and friends.  The holidays are supposed to be relaxing, and The Food Police take the fun out of what should be a time for small indulgences and treats.  I applaud all of you that can walk away from the dessert table full just by looking at it.  However, for those of us that might take that second sugar cookie, just remember that we usually have a strategy that doesn’t involve guilt and deprivation.  🙂

For tips on how to avoid temptation over the holidays, check out this Holiday Eating Survival Guide.

