I’ve done a lot of workout videos in my day.  From pilates, to kickboxing, to working out on the ab ball, I guess you could literally say I’ve tried them all.  I usually have mixed feelings about them.  Some of them have been so easy, I barely break a sweat, while others are so hard only a double jointed person could complete the moves.

I think my biggest challenge in working out is staying engaged.  Since I try to work out every day of the week, the usual gets boring for me pretty fast.  And when it gets boring, we know what happens.  So, for Christmas, I decided to add to my video collection by asking for Jillian Michaels Banish Fat Boost Metabolism Workout DVD.  I have a lot of weigh training DVD’s and was really looking to boost the cardio elements of my routine.

And boost it did.  This video is one of the more challenging ones I’ve done.  It’s not impossible, however, I’m definitely huffing and puffing my way through parts of it.  Jillian takes you through 7 circuits of moves, and it really is a non-stop workout.  You barely have time to catch your breath before you’re on to the next one.  Circuits 1, 3 and 5 are probably the easiest to get through.  2, 4 and 7 however, are very challenging.  I can usually do the more advanced moves and don’t have to drop down to the suggested beginner moves, but not on this one.

This video makes me feel really good. I like Jillian Michaels better than I thought I would.  I’ve never seen The Biggest Loser, but have to admit I’m not a fan of instructors that just yell in your face all day. Not sure if she does that, but that’s the impression I had of her.  Granted, I will never look like her, but I like that she is a realist.  The girls that are in the video can kick almost as high as their heads and stretch to lengths I’ve never been able to.  Jillian acknowledges that even she can’t do this and makes you feel normal instead of completely out of shape and inflexible.

This workout is a challenge, that’s for sure.  I never thought jump squats would be a welcome break, but after everything Jillian puts you through, jump squats are a dream.  The best part about this video is the sense of accomplishment I feel after doing it.  I feel like I’ve worked hard, and that makes me feel incredible.

If you’re looking for a change, turn to Jillian!  She has a pretty robust web site with all sorts of products and suggestions.  Still not sure I feel like signing up for yet another site, but this one is definitely on my radar.

