Since I’ve now been to Eccola twice, I figured it was time to give it a proper review.  I have to admit, a few things initially turned me off to this restaurant, the first thing obviously being the name.  Sounds a little too close to Ecoli for me.  And who wants to think of Ecoli when they think about dining out??  Second was the location.  Located in a tiny strip mall on beautiful Route 46 in Parsippany, there’s not much going on aesthetically for this restaurant from the outside.  But let’s head inside, shall we?  🙂

Eccola has impressed me each time I went.   Even though the parking lot has been packed both times, since it shares a lot with other stores, they have people outside to direct you to a spot.  It’s valet without valet!  I hate narrow parking lots with no room, so this appealed to me.  Inside, Eccola is warm and friendly, a total surprise from the outside.  The wooden bar looks cozy, and the seating arrangements are close, but not so close that you’re afraid to talk with your dining partners.

I found the service at Eccola to be fantastic as well.  Each time I dined there, the wait staff was attentive and quick without being overbearing or rushing you through a meal.  And you definitely don’t want to rush through this meal.  The first time I went to Eccola, I had the Gnocchi con Pesto, which was a very filling dish, but not to the point of making me feel ill.  I thought the sauce was creamy, without being too heavy.  The second time, I had the Meat Tortellini alla Panna, which was also very good.  The sauce on this was a little heavier than the Gnocchi, but still definitely worth it.

During my first trip, we did indulge in dessert-the peanut butter pie was absolutely fantastic!  The serving of dessert was a bit awkward, as some of us got our desserts before others, but that was really the only service mishap.

Every now and then, you just feel like having a giant carb fest-Eccola is the perfect place to do so!  I’ve dined there on both a Friday and a Tuesday and would recommend calling ahead for reservations on the weekend.  During the week, although there are more people there than you would think, there are still plenty of tables.

My rating:  9/10

Eccola Italian Bistro
1082 Route 46 West
Parsippany, NJ 07054
973-334-8211

