I’m not really that interested in medical studies.   However, I kept reading tidbits of this one in magazines and my Hungry Girl newsletter, so I figured it was time.

The Journal of the American Medical Association recently published results from a study to determine the relationship between physical activity and weight gain. “Lucky” for all of us, the results were unclear.

I do struggle with how long I need to work out each day.  Should I be doing an hour every day, or more?  My love-hate relationship with doctors actually hinged on this question one day as well.  I went for a check-up and asked what the doctor thought.  This was at a time when I was consistently working out 5 days a week for an hour. She told me I just needed to “work out more”.  Ok, then, I’ll do that once you had like 6 extra hours to my day.

The study found that, for women that had a usual diet, physical activity correlated to less weight gain only when these women had a BMI of 25 or less.  Those that were successful in maintaining normal weight gain averaged 60 minutes a day of moderate to intense activity.

This study was obviously looking at the long term effects of physical activity on weight gain.  It didn’t give me much hope that all of my hard work is going to pay off in a big way.  Not that maintaining weight isn’t important as well.  I just wish someone would come out with a study that said we were all doing just fine.  😉  I know it varies, but I will never stop being annoyed by some people that work out for a minute and lose like 17 pounds, while the rest of us constantly battle it!  Just my gripe of the day…I’m tired of waking up to work out every day. 🙂

