Feeling the Burn

As you’ve likely guessed by now from all of my posts that mention Jillian Michaels, I’ve become a bit obsessed with her workouts.  As I’ve said before, I feel like her workouts are 10 times more challenging than some of the other ones I’ve found and bought-I actually feel like I’ve really worked hard after I’m done!

With that said, workout videos ain’t cheap, so that’s where Netflix comes in handy.  Jared updated his subscription to 4 DVDs at a time so I could start taking advantage of her videos without breaking the bank.  First up was 30 Day Shred.

Overall, the structure of this workout was great.  It is based on the 3-2-1 plan Jillian has:  3 minutes of strength, 2 minutes of cardio, 1 minute of abs.   There are 3 levels that contain 3 “3-2-1-” circuits, and each level gets progressively harder. Each level is self-contained and takes about 20 minutes.

I started with Level 1, thinking that I’d be able to do all 3 levels on the same day to maximize my workout time.  Even though these are designed to give you a great workout in 20 minutes, I can never move past that place psychologically where I feel like 20 minutes was enough.  On Day 1, I tried Levels 1 and 2 back to back.  Level 1 was challenging, but do-able, although I do admit I had to do some of the “beginner modifications”.  Level 2 was actually very very challenging.  Level 2 involved a lot of floor work with planks and jump squats and the like, which are always super hard for me.  No matter how hard I try, my upper body strength still isn’t where I need it to be.

The day before I sent the video back, I decided to give Level 3 a try following Level 1, half expecting to turn it off halfway through.  For me, Level 3 was challenging, but a lot easier than Level 2 based on the moves involved.  I probably should have done that one all along-then I would have actually finished the 40 minutes.

My only issue with the circuits is that I wish they were longer, but that’s a Valarie thing.  The Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism video I have is the perfect length for me, but I guess for people that don’t have time, at least the way this is broken out can help them fit in a decent workout.

All in all, another great workout from Jillian.  I guess I’m officially obsessed.

Next up:  The Biggest Loser Power Sculpt!   Stay tuned!

