Jared and I are back to tracking our caloric intake on Livestrong.  Part of the program also tracks your daily values of fiber, sodium, carbs, fat, etc.  Last time we did this, it made me a lot more aware of how much sodium some of the frozen “healthy” meals have.  I made a comment about that to someone recently, and they seemed surprised I would be concerned with sodium.  So, why is sodium a concern?

The American Heart Association explains why better than I can.  🙂  The obvious down sides are increased risk for hypertension, heart disease and stroke.  I know I’m young for that, but what better time to think about how what we’re eating affects our health in the years to come?

There are lots of new regulations being discussed to cut down on sodium in processed food.  Very interested to see how this plays out in the coming years.

