Last week I got lazy and forgot to post.  Sorry.  No excuse!  So, this week we’ll continue with our best of series.  This week, we’re talking about my favorite topic-staying organized!  As I’ve written before, there are so many details to keep track of when it comes to planning a wedding, that if you’re not on top of your game, even the biggest pieces can fall through the cracks.

Google Docs: I don’t think I need to go on and on again about my love for Google Docs.  This is literally the best planning tool out there for people that prefer not to keep 10 million printouts of un-finalized things!  Jared and I are still using this, even up to 2 weeks before, for final changes to guest lists, seating arrangements, itineraries, and even e-mails we’re drafting to send to friends.  Life saver!

Accordion File Folder: Even though I’m more of an Internet doc girl myself, there are many reasons to keep paper files, such as contracts, receipts, etc.  I bought this accordion folder from The Container Store awhile back, and it’s seriously been my life line.  Love it!  I organized mine into a few different categories:  “The Madison, Reception, Bride, Registry, Misc.” etc.  Really helps when we can’t figure out what we actually included in our photo package, for instance, to not have to sort through emails.

TheKnot.com Checklist: Fellow brides, I know you’ve all been there with me-that moment of panic when you’re absolutely sure you’re forgetting to do something major?  The planning checklist on The Knot has been my saving grace in that sense, with it’s simple yet comprehensive task list that I can add to as we go.  Reminds me that maybe I do have my act together after all!

Brides Magazine Checklist: Brides Magazine was one of my favorites when I still felt the need to read bridal magazines.  In each issue, they have a tear out checklist that has been super helpful.  Even though I have The Knot, I think it’s always good to have 2, just to make sure you’re covering all your bases.

Response Card Box: Nothing fancy here, just a shoe-box type item that Jared and I used to store all of the responses we got to our wedding invitation.  Once we had received most of them, I organized them according to the way our list was laid out.  This allowed us to do a quick cross-check to make sure we had included everyone we had response cards for.  Simple, but still super effective for ensuring no one is left out.

And finally, last but not least:  anyone who has ever worked with me before knows that I am the queen of the written out “to-do” list.  Whether it’s a daily or weekly list, having your tasks right in front of you at all times cuts down on the amount of time it takes us to figure out what needs to be done.  So, grab that pen, and start that list!  The sooner you start, the sooner you’ll be able to check that box and move on 🙂

