There are a lot of things people tell you about weddings.  Anyone who has been a bride or groom can back me up on that.  In fact, that was probably the most annoying part about planning a wedding-everyone who had already been there, done that always thought they knew the best way to do things.  When you’re dealing with someone like me who doesn’t ever leave the house without her trusty planners and binders, the advice thing got a bit annoying after awhile.  After all, every wedding is different.  For that reason, I’m not really too keen on dishing out advice unless someone specifically asks for it.

So, this is not my post-wedding advice write-up.  This is a summary of the things I liked most about our day.  Yes, they do have to do with details we had planned and it’s possible other people could use this as advice, but everyone is different!

1.)  Just Say No to Bridal Isolation: I don’t really believe in the old fashioned way of running the wedding day.  Well, I shouldn’t say that.  I knew I didn’t want Jared to see me until I walked down the aisle.  But, that didn’t mean I didn’t want anyone else but the bridal party and the moms to see me either.  We booked a room at the hotel downstairs for hair and makeup, and I wanted as many of my close friends and family in and out as possible.  Not only did it keep me calm, but it also allowed me to spend some wonderful time with the people I love most before the day got too crazy.  I truly cherish everyone who stopped by to see me that morning and made the day peaceful through their presence.

2.)  Non-Bridal Party Helpers: Where would we be without Sharon and Owen??  I’m a control freak.  For that reason, I needed to know that someone other than my girls and Jared’s guys could be out there helping us in the event I needed something and couldn’t leave the room.  Sharon and Owen were invaluable in that regard.  They had a strong pulse on what was going on for the wedding, but were far enough removed that they could see things we might be missing.  Without them behind the scenes organizing things that I couldn’t do that day, I don’t think I would have gotten compliments like “you were the calmest bride I’ve ever seen.”  Appointing people to help you out on the day of the wedding that are outside the direct bridal party was probably the best decision I made!

3.)  Bride and Groom Quiet Time: As everyone knows the wedding day is a whirlwind.  Jared and I were so crazy busy the night before that we didn’t even get to say goodbye to each other after the rehearsal dinner!  Since I wasn’t seeing him until we stood together at the front of the ceremony room, we obviously had a lot to catch up on.  I don’t know who orchestrated this, but someone put us in a meeting room in the hotel alone while the bridal party and parents attended the end of the cocktail hour and just let us catch up.  It was very refreshing to have that time alone to catch our breaths and share our thoughts on how beautiful everything was.

I have a lot of catching up to do with reviewing vendors and our honeymoon experience, so you haven’t seen the end of the wedding posts from me quite yet!

