Comfort food diet?  How is that even possible?  I thought the same thing myself when I saw this book advertised in a Taste of Home magazine I subscribe to.  Since we already have enough cookbooks to cook one meal each day for the next two years out of each book, I hadn’t thought about buying it.  However, my aunt needed gift ideas for us, of which I had none, so this went on the list.

comfortfooddietThe Taste of Home Comfort Food Diet Cookbook is different from any cookbook I’ve ever looked through.  The beginning section provides meal plans, as well as healthy eating advice.  My favorite is a list of “free” foods, so to speak, or, foods you can eat without having to worry about calorie count.  The cookbook is then separated into breakfast, lunch, dinner, side dishes and desserts, with detailed meal planning guides and information about online resources.

I love the idea of someone telling me what to eat at each meal.  However, most plans often have foods that I don’t like as their main meals.  I’m not as picky as I used to be, but there are still things I just don’t like to eat.  And what’s the point of following a meal plan if I’m going to indulge later because I’m hungry?  This meal plan seems to have a nice variety of options, however, here comes gripe #2 with meal plans:  if you’re not working from home, how the heck are you supposed to prepare some of these things in the office?  All I have are a microwave and toaster oven at hand at the office, and some of these meals didn’t look like they could be prepared ahead of time and heated up the next day.  Oh well…

The best thing about this cookbook was how receptive Jared was to the recipes.  Usually, he looks through my low calorie diet cookbooks without interest.  When I gave him this cookbook, he picked 3 dinners out of it for this week alone!  So far, we’ve had Lime Chicken Tacos, which literally had 6 ingredients and sat in the crockpot all day, and the Balsamic Seasoned Steak.  The steak was full of flavor, however, I would have added a bit more lime juice to the tacos.  It could have been the size of my slow cooker, but I felt like the lime juice flavor was lost.

One thing to watch with the recipes is portion size.  The cookbook lists meals according to calorie count, however, just make sure you’re only having one serving in order to meet the calories listed.  Portion sizes are on the smallish side, so take that into account!

While I certainly have a lot of Taste of Home Cookbooks, this one will take priority right now in our meal planning due to the detailed nutritional information.  And, big bonus here, when I type the recipe name into Livestrong‘s My Plate calorie tracking app, it shows right up with the correct calorie and nutrition counts.  Taste of Home really wins big for that!  Happy cooking!

